Abingdon Theatre Company proudly announces that San Francisco-based playwright Jordan Ramirez Puckett is the winner of the 2015 Christopher Brian Wolk Award for her play RESTORE.

A presentation of the award and staged reading of the play took place Monday, December 14, at 7:00pm in the June Havoc Theatre, 312 West 36th Street, NYC.

In RESTORE, Amy and Kyle are a couple who meet as children, fall in love as teenagers, and seem fated to be together as adults. Their parents couldn’t be happier. But eventually their relationship shows signs of reciprocal physical and emotional abuse. One night, the escalating tension causes an unthinkable event. Over the course of the play, each character must find a way to face his or her own culpability.

Abingdon’s Artistic Director Tony Speciale, whose credits include The Absolute Brightness of Leonard Pelkey and Unnatural Acts, directed the reading.

RESTORE was nominated along with five other scripts from nearly 350 plays submitted to Abingdon during its 2014-2015 season. A selection committee comprised of actors, directors and playwrights determined the winning script through a blind selection process.

The finalists for last year’s award were Michael Aman’s Feeding the Bear; James Armstrong’s Betty Thorpe; John Morogiello’s The Consul, The Tramp and America’s Sweetheart; Charlotte Sampler’s Darlin’; and Lawrence Thelen’s Mamma’s Apple Pie.


About the Award

In an ongoing effort to recognize excellence in playwriting, Abingdon established the Christopher Brian Wolk Award, which has been presented annually, since 2001, to a writer of a full-length play not yet produced in New York City. The honor includes a $1,000 cash award and staged reading of the winning script.

The award is named after Christopher Brian Wolk, a talented and creative actor, musician, singer, writer and composer who died in an accident in National Glacier Park, Montana. Christopher worked extensively with Abingdon including both the workshop and the main stage productions of Zona, The Ghost of Greenbrier. Together with the Wolk family, Abingdon created the award to honor his memory through a celebration of artistic achievement.


Previous Wolk Award Winners

Mike Bencivenga, Summer on Fire

Sheldon Bull, Mallorca
Produced by Abingdon Theatre Company, May 29-June21, 2015

Rob Winn Anderson, The 10th Son

Jack Canfora, Poetic License
Produced by The Director’s Company at 59E59 Theatre

Stephen Spotswood, Aronsville Woman
Produced at Northern Kentucky University

Joel Fields, How I Fell In Love
Produced by Abingdon Theatre Company , January 21-February 13, 2011

Frank Tangredi, Pastoral
Optioned for commercial production

Mark Eisman, Shove
Produced by The Road Theatre Company, Los Angeles, CA

Tim Slover, Treasure
Produced by Fulton Theatre, New Lancaster, PA and University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT

Nancy Moss, Hostage Wife
Produced by the Kumu Kahua Theatre in Honolulu, HA

Daniel Damiano, Dreams of Friendly Aliens
Produced in Abingdon’s 2006-2007 season

Stuart Warmflash, Shortly After Takeoff
Produced by Harbor Lights Theatre Company, NY, NY

Cheryl Royce, The Passion of Claire
Produced by Hudson Stage Company, Croton-on-Hudson, NY

Christopher Bailey, Mandrake and the Marsh People
Subsequently developed at Lord Leebrick Theater Company, Eugene, OR